Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Pigeon

This morning I went for my first training ride on my bike. I intend to cycle from my parents house to Selby to watch the start of the 2nd day's racing in the inaugural Tour De Yorkshire in May, and then I will cycle from Selby to York to see the finish (via a shorter route) and then I will cycle back home, which will mean about 35-40 miles cycling during the course of the day. It will be a good adventure, and will be easier to get to see the event rather than trying to park the car.

While I was out on my bike I saw a Jay and a Green Woodpecker, and a flock of Redwings or Fieldfairs. After I got back from my ride I decided to start the Big Garden Birdwatch. I topped up my feeders and laid out some more food on the wall and settled back to watch, and wait......and wait....and wait. 

Frustratingly I didn't have many visitors to the garden this morning, perhaps it was the wrong part of the morning, just a group of House Sparrows, a couple of Blackbirds, and this Pigeon, who seemed to have settled in for a rest as I had chance to get him lined up through my lens.

I was speaking to my Mum and Dad on the phone while they were doing their birdwatch, and the Kingfisher made an appearance on their garden wall!  Lucky them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.