Sussex downland

On my way to Worthing today I had to cross the South downs, so I decided to go right at the Findon roundabout down Long furlong to see if there was any decent landscape shots to be had.
I stopped in one of the precariously tiny laybys and managed this shot, which I quite like as it shows this area of downland quite well, and the lines in the field were pleasing too. 
As I was driving on my way back to the roundabout I stopped in another layby to photograph the sheep, making there way along the steep hillside. As I moved on again I noticed a poor sheep stuck in the water trough! without thinking I screeched to a halt and mounted the kerb outside two houses, dashed across the road, over the very conveniently placed stile (all very fast for me) and over to the trough.
Poor girlie was well stuck in the trough and very wet! I tried twice to pull her out but she was too heavy, and just baaaaa'd sadly at me :-( I then tried to get her front legs on the side of the trough, but couldn't mange that either! 
So i rushed off telling her to 'stay put'as if she could do anything else and rushed over the road to find help at the houses.
Eventually a guy came to the gate, but while he was getting his jumper (he was chopping wood) two burly guys in a white van arrived and hauled her out! 
I was so relieved! but she was very shocked, cold and wobbly, but she was on her feet, so having spoken to the two guys in the van, the other guy said he would ring the land owner or the RSPCA and make sure she was OK.
I pray she will make it bless her, how awful for her to be stuck there, and she had bashed her eye trying to get out - poor thing! 
I don't think she had been there too long as two of us noticed her in a ten minute time slot - hope she is soon back with the rest of the flock :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.