Unpredictability and Spontaneity

A day that was for once spent almost entirely away from the computer, a day that flowed with unpredictability and spontaneity from beginning to end, and, although I hesitate to say the words, a day that also seemed to be infused by magic. It was full of remarkable coincidences and delightful encounters. It felt like the Universe was determined to pluck me from my bubble and show me what life is really all about. It succeeded!

Photography was very much sidelined but as I come to choose a picture the following morning I end up actually being spoiled for choice. Because I'm struggling to find the time to get out on the bike right now I have chosen this one to record the fact that I did actually go for a ride this afternoon, just the standard circuit out to Burnsall and back, and it felt great to be in motion again, despite a serious reminder from the legs that my fitness needs a lot of work.

It could equally have been a photo from the moor in the morning, where I joined Spartan, up on a surprise visit, for a very icy jog. It could have been of a baby I ended up doing a little photo shoot of in Cafe Nero in town, after having been invited out for a coffee and a writing session by my friend R. In that short visit into town, something I rarely do, I ended up bumping into all sorts of friends whom I hadn't seen in a while. I perhaps should have posted a picture of one of them, but for my portrait of the day I had to choose Audrey.

This wasn't taken while I was walking around town, but after I'd set off on my bike ride. While stopped to let the almost continuous stream of people pass by at the main pedestrian crossing in Ilkley, she and her husband Frank walked in front of me and I was quite captivated by them. They were both dressed so elegantly and had so much vitality about them that I was compelled to try to say hello. However, before I could pursue them, fellow blipper Dcred also walked by (yes, it was that kind of day) and after a very quick catch-up I thought I might have lost the lovely couple - but they were distinctive enough to be able to spot not too far away. Quite remarkably, it turned out that they were both once avid cyclists too, riding all around the Dales together. They have only just moved to Ilkley and I'm sure our paths will cross again. We have promised to have a coffee together. They were both totally engaging, and still full of fire! My advice to you is never hesitate to stop and say hello to a stranger if you get a 'hit' like I did on that occasion. It is those encounters that so often end up being the highlight of my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.