Opia

The ambiguous intensity of eye contact

I came across this new video entry in the Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows on Friday evening and made a note to myself to look out for a blip that might serve as an appropriate introduction. I hadn't expected to be offered such a perfect shot so soon. The magic of yesterday still seems to be following me around!

There is an air of melancholy about these short films that I find quite seductive. Although I'm generally a happy enough soul these intriguing definitions resonate with me very strongly. They connect with sorrows that we all contain within us by virtue of being human. I believe acknowledging them as such puts us more deeply in touch with our humanity. I humbly suggest that following the link above is worth a couple of minutes of your time.

I've been in the office today and succeeded in tying up most of the loose ends that were left dangling on Friday. Beforehand, I had the privilege of enjoying the delightful company of an ebullient eight year old boy. It's quite a while since I've witnessed the joys and frustrations of being a parent at such close hand. It's strange how my own experience appears to have been erased from the memory. I've been through it with two boys and I can barely recall a thing! All I can say is that one particular mum should feel very proud of herself right now. 

Finally, as for the photograph, feel free to make up your own story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.