In Conversation

It's been a hell of a day, consisting of quite a few failures punctuated by the odd triumph. I'm home late again but I can look back and take enough positives from the things that I did get working to make up for those that I didn't. My lunchtime foray into town mirrored my day really. Very unusually, I got a couple of rejections when it came to my portrait and when I saw a mate sitting on a bench I decided to sit down, have a quick chat, and regroup (and take a few candids of course). 

When I look later at these surreptitious shots it's hard to get my head around the fact that I'm not actually behind the camera, that I have eye contact with the subject while the camera doesn't. I'm just experimenting really, and quite enjoying the rather random nature of this kind of photography. It doesn't require a lot of thought, just a willingness to be bold - and being prepared for a clip round the ear if you get caught!

Just after I took this I spotted a likely face at the market and had to go have a chat. My friend here didn't reckon much to my chances. It was nice to have been able to prove him wrong! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.