Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Birdwatching

Today I have completed a few chores, child-minding, meal preparing and not much besides. I'm feeling the effects of an onsetting head cold, which Master H seems to have constantly at the moment, so the appeal of the sofa has been a strong one.

We set aside an hour before lunch for the big garden bird watch, and saw 9 species and a total of 32 birds in the hour. The girls did very well to stick at it for the whole time. An hour or so before, I set up my camera in front of the window feeder to capture the visiting robins. Master H was most intrigued by the camera set up and did his best to fully investigate this new addition to the lounge. He did eventually tire of this and left the robins to return as you can see.

As I write, Beloved is sitting at the dining room table, with Miss I and Miss C, learning the art of sewing and Master H is sleeping upstairs. The girls are making pincushions, their first items of their own. They've moved on from practicing the art of following straight and curvy pencil lines on paper with the sewing machine, to actual sewing. 

I have the important task of minding the wood-burning stove and keeping it supplied with fuel, which is conveniently close to the sofa. We haven't had the heating on at all today!

I hope you like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.