Egyptian Avenue

I met up today with a bunch of  photographers - fellow Blippers and customers of LPH. We joined a tour of the Highgate West Cemetery in north London.

The cemetery was opened in 1839 and features some wonderful architecture, reflecting the development of Victorian tastes ove the years.  For a period, there was a definite interest in anything Egyptian, and this inspired the "Egyptian Avenue".  Originally roofed over - but later opened up to the sky, this tomb lined avenue leads to the equally impressive and Egyptian inspired "Circle of Lebanon", a circle of tombs built around a cedar tree which existed before the cemetery was built.

This location calls out for black and white photography, although I'm not sure I have achieved the best black and white conversion here.  I may experiment further with the photographs I took this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.