Birds, Why Are Ye Silent?

.... The tree-creeper hustles
     Up fir's rusty bark;
     All silent he bustles;
     We needn't say hark.
     There's no song in the forest, in field, or in wood,
     Yet the sun gilds the grass as though come in for good....

John Clare

I was photographing a chiff-chiff on the ground near Cheshunt Lock when a tiny flash of white half way up a tree trunk caught my eye. It was the third treecreeper that I have seen in my life. The first was on a weeping willow in my garden. The second photobombed a squirrel that I was taking pictures of at High Beach whilst I was trying to find the asylum where John Clare lived.

Also known as the tree mouse, this tiny bird starts climbing from the bottom of a tree trunk in a spiral to the top. It then flies to the bottom of another tree. Its tail has very stiff feathers which help it to balance whilst making its ascent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.