Times Of My Life

By CarolB

Too Many Tatties .....

Now, I know I can't be the only person who ends a lovely day by having a stupid fight about something completely ridiculous?  Am I?

Last night we had a wee Burn's Supper with the grandkids, and then watched a DVD (Disney, Aristocats), before having hot chocolate and Oreo cookies, and then teeth cleaned and The House at Pooh Corner as a bedtime story.

Kids went out like a light at 8pm, but I was woken at 3.15am by a wee girl standing at the side of my bed whispering "I had a bad dream Granny".  Picked her up, and whisked her in between me and G, and tried to go back to sleep.  Except she couldn't.  She counted - "one, two, three, four ....... twenty nine, a hundred ....", and she fidgeted, and she wriggled, and she kicked, and she eventually fell asleep about 5am. 

6am - her brother materialised beside the bed: "Granny, I need a pee" ....  took him to the bathroom, then back to bed, hopped in beside him, tried to get him to go back to sleep - except he couldn't either.  "Granny, I want to go downstairs".  "Granny, I want my breakfast".  "Granny, I need a poo".  Aaaargh! 

Managed to keep him in bed until 7.30am, but had to get up then as he was wide awake, and was in danger of making noise which would wake up his sister in the next room.  Downstairs we had breakfast, and then quietly watched a bit of telly before his sister woke and came down at 9am. 

I wasn't actually shattered during the day, but by the time we had painted, played dominoes, got washed and dressed, taken the dog out, had lunch, gone to the Softplay, and then I drove them home, I was knackered!

On the way home I stopped off in Mr Tesco's shop, and phoned G to find out what he was doing for tea.  He said he was going to eat up the rest of the Haggis etc. left over from last night.  As it was the most disgusting haggis I have ever eaten (and I love haggis), I said not to bother with me, I'd get something myself.  Nipped round the shop, bought a large stockpot to make my marmalade in, picked up one or two little items for tomorrow's packed lunch, and set off for home. 

Got home to find huge pot of tatties boiling over on the stove.  Me: "Hi love, what are the tatties cooking for"?  Him: "I didn't know what you were going to have for tea, so thought I'd better do some tatties".  Me: "I'm just going to have a sandwich, didn't need any tatties".  Him: "Well, I didn't know that, so I thought I'd better make some".  Me: "Well, even if I was going to have tatties, I wouldn't need a whole pot-ful, would I"?  Him: "Oh sorry for trying to do something nice; I shouldn't have bothered".  Me: "Well, what am I going to do with a whole potful of tatties now"?  Him: "Throw them in the brown bin if you want, I don't care".  Me: "Oh yeah, that's not wasteful is it"? 

Him: "What's that you bought while you were out"?  Me: "It's a big stockpot, to use to make my marmalade in".  Him: "You are a total hypocrite; when I wanted to buy a big stockpot you said we didn't need one, and that you didn't have anywhere to keep one".  Me: "Yes, well we didn't need one - there are only two of us in the house, and we don't need anything that size usually, it's just because I need it now to make the marmalade".  Him: "Oh, of course, because YOU need it it's okay, but when I needed it it was a waste of money"?  Me: "Well, what did you need it for?  You weren't going to make jam or anything"?  Him: "No, I was going to make soup, or use it to make potato salad when we have a barbecue".  Me: "Well, that would just be stupid, because there are only two of us so we  don't need that much soup, and we only have one barbecue a year"!  Him: "Oh of course, you will be making marmalade and jam every week, so it will get well used!  How come when I want to buy something it's a waste of  money, but when you want to buy the same thing it's okay? From now on I'm not going to consult you, I'll just buy what I want when I want it"!

And so doth the lack of sleep cause the furious fight!

I bet I don't even make the blinking marmalade now - I haven't got a spare minute until Friday, and I don't know how long the oranges will keep. 

In the meantime, does anyone have any idea what to do with a big Tupperware container full of tatties?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.