Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Al Dokki Street

This street's just off Midan Mesaha, which is the square on the doorstep of the flat where we live when here in Cairo. It's a vibrant, noisy, traffic-filled commercial street, serving the local community. Definitely not a tourist street. Bb and I met mid afternoon for a walk round the block and I took my blip shot. Bb did a lot of writing/editing in the cafe on the square today, while I caught up with some work in the flat: end of course reports for the November and December courses; references for three ex-trainees; catching up of some personal emails; and then a little panic attack when I couldn't find a vital document necessary for the coming week and the thought that I'd need two hours to produce a version of it tonight. I found it, but not before I'd sent out a 'help' email to a colleague! The time wasted looking for the document meant I didn't have time to write the general knowledge quiz in the phonetic script which I wanted for my session tomorrow morning. Never mind! A late night drink and sandwich supper in the hotel across the street on the square ended our day and public holiday.

Although it seemed quiet on the streets of Cairo today on the 4 year anniversary of the Egyptian revolution, 16 people were killed and scores injured in east Cairo and Alexandria and one female was shot dead on Tahrir Square last night, just 10 mins from where we are right now. 'Quiet' seems a badly chosen word and a celebration it was not.

One of my best friends joined blip and posted her first blip today:

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2005823072799555976

She lives in New Zealand. If you have a minute, pop into her journal to say hello and welcome her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.