Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Burns Supper

It had to be done, I don't really have any particular interest in Robert Burns, or poetry in general, but it was an excuse to eat haggis, not that I need an excuse I do have haggis fairly regularly. I had bought a haggis and a turnip earlier in the week so I only needed some potatoes. I didn't need to go to Stockbridge Market today but there was nothing on TV and so I headed out after lunch. I almost missed the bus to Stockbridge I saw it coming down the road and just managed to get to the bus stop in time to hop on, it only runs every 1/2 hour on Sundays and I might not have bothered if I had missed it. 

I knew Eden.Mill were bringing out another bottle of Whisky Spirit for Burns Night and I was interested to try it, I was also planning on making a Whisky Sauce and thought I might use their Whisky Spirit. I tried some and decided to get a bottle, it is made from different malts to their Hogmanay spirit so although similar it is different, it still reminds me of an Islay, quite sharp and a bit smoky but not as sweet and maybe a bit nuttier than the Hogmanay Spirit. I also piked up a bottle of chili oil and a bottle of Honey & Mustard dressing at the market.

After the market I dropped into the Stockbridge Tap for a couple pints, they had on "Jaffa the Hutt" from Loch Lomond brewery, it's a version of their "Silkie Stout" infused with Jaffa oranges. After a couple pints I headed home and picked up some potatoes and cream on the way.

I managed to successfully burn my turnip by letting it boil dry in the pan while peeling the potatoes and had to throw them out, luckily I had only used about half the turnip so I chopped up the rest of it and started again, this time keeping an eye on it! I decided not to mash the turnip but leave it in cubes just for a different visual effect. I made the sauce using a beef stock jelly thingy with some cream and the Whisky spirit I bought today. I'd read on a couple internet sites that you should set light to the Whisky to burn off the alcohol so it is not too bitter, this seemed such a shame so I decided to add honey instead. It worked quite well giving the sauce an unusual bitter, sweet counter balance which worked pretty well with the spicy haggis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.