The Way I See Things

By JDO

Thames

CH and I went to London this afternoon. Having parked at the South Bank we walked across the Jubilee Bridge and up to the National Portrait Gallery to see the Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize exhibition, which we enjoyed. I really like the photograph that won this year, though some people had complained that it was more of a family snap than a portrait; but I thought there were stronger images in the exhibition than either of the two other main prize winners - I especially liked the portrait of Lenny Henry.

We then had a great Indian vegetarian meal at Woodlands in Panton Street - just for old times' sake - before walking back over Waterloo Bridge to the Queen Elizabeth Hall to see the incomparable Punch Brothers. If bluegrass rock is even slightly to your taste I do recommend that you check them out. They were so good, I even forgave them for not doing this cover. Their support act was a woman called Sarah Jarosz, who appeared last year on the BBC4 Transatlantic Sessions - also very good, and worth checking out.


I took some shots as we walked over Waterloo Bridge, of which this one, looking east towards St Paul's Cathedral, is my favourite. It's not pin sharp - it was hand-held at 1/13 sec, and I don't have as steady a hand as some renowned night-time photographers on here! - but I'm happy with it as a memento of a Good Day Out. A few more here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.