The Way I See Things

By JDO

Mono Monday: Close up

After all the gadding about of yesterday, CH and I had a very late night: we lost about half an hour navigating around two separate road closures due to accidents (not what you expect at that time on a Sunday), and didn't get home till 1am. Consequently, today I was tired and grumpy - though thankful that I didn't have to get back in the car and drive to Derbyshire, as CH did this morning.

This afternoon I invigilated a GCSE mock exam, which made me grumpier, and arrived home just as the light was fading with no blip secured. Thank heavens for Mono Monday! After half an hour of tinkering around with tripod and lenses I'd secured three shots I was happy with, and my mood was transformed. I almost  went with the shot of my own eye peering around the camera - but viewed large, the evidence of my having mysteriously turned into a wrinkly old trout while I was busy thinking about something else was a little too much to deal with. Maybe I'll make a small version my next profile pic. And I'll blip the interesting candlesticks another day. So here is a close-up of the buds on the amaryllis I bought about a month ago - I'm very much looking forward to it flowering, and it will almost certainly be re-blipped at that point.

Oh - one other thing which many of you probably already know, but which I learned to my cost today: when submitting photographs by email to a competition, it's probably better not to wait till the closing date in the hope that you might get a better shot than the one you had taken a week earlier, because when your email (sent at noon) bounces at 8pm, you are banjaxxed. Such is life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.