The Way I See Things

By JDO

Bidford Bridge

When I finished work at Alcester Grammar School this afternoon I drove over to take a look at Kinwarton Dovecote, which is owned by the National Trust. I didn't think much of it, to be honest - though possibly I'm spoiled by having lived 30 yards away from this one when we first moved up to Worcestershire. The dovecote at Kinwarton is closed at the moment; I'll go back and take another look in the summer and I'll probably like it more. The little church there is very sweet, though nowhere near as impressive as the Old Rectory next door, which is the kind of property I can never imagine real people actually living in because it looks like something out of a BBC costume drama - I would have liked to photograph it, but lacked the front.

I thought I'd be blipping the church, but by the time I got to Bidford the sky was very nice so I stopped to take a few shots from the bridge. The added element of interest in this one is the half-submerged narrow boat being pumped out close to the north bank - I don't know what the story is behind this incident, but according to a snarky discussion on Canalworld.net  it appears to have happened about 10 days ago, possibly due to the boat having been incorrectly moored. Whatever happened, it must be a very sad sight for the owner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.