foxfollower

By foxfollower

Sunday School

This plaque is on a wall above a branch of Greggs in High Wycombe. I don't know how many times I must have walked past it, but today I noticed it for the first time. Becoming more aware of what's around me, and really observing it, is part of the pleasure of my daily blip.
It prompted me to look her up on Wikipedia. She was an English Wesleyan methodist and pioneer of the Sunday school. When John Wesley and other methodist preachers visited High Wycombe, where she lived for most of her life, she was attracted by their teaching. In 1769 she began a Sunday school. It was continued by her sister Anne, was reorganised in 1801, and lasted late into the nineteenth century. If you're interested in knowing more, you can find the full entry here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.