Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Remembering St. John

Dear Diary,

With a major snow storm bearing down on us today my thoughts were tending to warmer climates this morning so I'm using a poster I made after a trip to St. John in the US Virgin Islands back in 2013.  I was visiting my dearest friend who runs a B&B on the island called "Treetops".  It is a beautiful place and right now I wouldn't mind burying my toes in warm sand!

I decided to try and create an alphabet while I was there using elements from the architecture, flora and fauna of the island and it was great fun!  I had done this before on Monhegan Island in Maine.  It is a great way to fine tune your observational skills and it is a bit like those scavenger hunts we all enjoyed as kids.  My favorite is "V".  It took quite awhile to get one of the wild Jerusalem donkeys to pose with his ears just right to create the V shape!

Storm starts tonight up here and will last through tomorrow.  No telling if the satellite service for my internet will stay up and running...or the power for that matter.  A "back blip" may be in the works!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.