Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Royal Garden... at least Royal something...

This is definitely not one of the old alleys of St Peter Port but if it survives long enough it may be one day. It is less than 10 years old and is on the site of the old Royal Hotel which used to be one of the first things you saw as you drove off the White Rock and headed north, when arriving in Guernsey by sea. Once a smart hotel, in the 70s it was more famous for its "grab a granny" dances. I was much too young to ever get grabbed... 

I am standing on a new road called Royal Garden, so called because it used to be the garden behind the Royal Hotel. I could be in the old swimming pool... I live in Royal Garden, just a few yards to the left of here. I have the top flat in the second block back from the sea and would be able to see me taking this photograph if I was looking out my lounge window. I can see the sea from my bedroom window. 

These steps lead down to the seafront and what you see right in front of me is my very own personal waterfall. It looks beautiful at night because it's lit with a blue light.

The building to the right is PriceWaterhouseCoopers which is the last place I worked before I retired in 2000. But their offices weren't here then; they were just around the corner from here. To the left is a gym, whose doors I will never darken and on the seafront is The Urban Kitchen. Behind me Starbucks will be opening very shortly. I think you could say I definitely live in the cafe culture area of Guernsey; though personally I'm happy with a mug and my Tassimo machine.

If you want to look at things a different way then this is looking up the water feature to where this pic was taken.

So why the title? Well I can never remember what these steps are called; maybe Royal Plazza or that may be only the Plazza behind me where Starbucks will be. But it's Royal something...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.