Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

St Sampsons Harbour

Back up to the north of the island today.

I think my only personal memories of St Sampsons Harbour goes back many years to when they held a few Nautocross races in the harbour at low tide. I've never been a fan of any sort of motor racing but remember watching  nautocross on one or two occasions. I think the only attraction for me was seeing the cars slide into each other or simply breaking down. There was a very low limit on the price that was able to be paid for the car; something like £20 (I had £200 but MauriceB said he though £20 was nearer the mark and I'm sure he's right; thank you Maurice) and I assume that while mechanics could presumably work on them that couldn't carry out expensive modifications. It was probably one of the muckiest things I've seen. I can't remember exactly when this was; maybe late 60s early 70s. Perhaps one of the other Guernsey clippers knows...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.