1/7/52/365

By nonsuchtony

Country Boy

This is the view I grew up with. From the age of five until I was nineteen if I walked out of our back door and looked broadly North eastwards this is what I saw. Thid particular view hasn't changed one bit. To the right of this picture the farm which I worked on as a teenager has all but gone, being turned into residential properties.

The view looks across the fields and meadows towards Broomsthorpe Church. I've spent many days on my own or with my brother and sister or mates walking and generally doing what children used to be free to do before society made us generally overprotective.

Over the horizon is what was RAF Sculthorpe, once America's biggest atomic bomb base in the UK, something I didn't know when I lived there. The base became inactive 23 years ago, however it is still used by the U.S. Air Forces 352nd Special Operations Group, something I wasn't aware of until I noticed the runway lights on and jets landing today. It took me back to the days when Vulcans used to swoop down over the fields to land at the base.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.