Life through the lens...

By ValC

Mum's B&W shot 1927.

What an enjoyable day, spent with my sister sorting through lots of old photos.
With it being Mono-Monday I thought I would blip these two photo of Bolton Abbey. Taken by my mum, Easter 1927 at the age of 21.
I liked her words.

"Waterfall near the stepping stones.
Not as entrancing in Black and White, as it looked in the sunshine."

I wonder what she would have thought of our mono shots today, after they were so thrilled when colour photography was invented?
I think they thought B&W was dead and buried!

We have decided that we are going to have some of the old photos scanned, and have a photo book made of the best photos.
Starting with some of our great, great grandparents, to the present day.
I think this is going to be a mammoth task, but a very enjoyable one.

There are quite a lot of Cornwall, including some of St Michael's Mount, and one of Dolly Pentreath's tombstone in Paul Church yard.Taken in 1929.
This is something for us to go and see when we are down in Cornwall at the end of February.
( I will save her story for that Blip!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.