Old and New

Today it was a cold, wet and grey day in Washington DC.  We had a combination of rain and snow, but seem to be missing out on the massive snowstorm hitting New York and New England.  As much as I love the snow, I am glad it's not hitting here.  Thousands of flights have been cancelled further north as they brace for 'Winter Storm Juno' and what 'could be the biggest blizzard in New York City history'.  If I had gone to New York instead of Washington yesterday, I definitely wouldn't be going home tonight!

A friend came into the city to meet me for lunch.  With the cold wet weather we didn't stray far from the hotel, but we did walk around a bit for some fresh air after lunch.  I always like walking past this beautiful old building.  I love the red bricks, the black trim and the traditional architecture, especially juxtaposed with the modern buildings to the left.  My friend's husband works in the creamy coloured modern office building, also with the curved corner, which houses the World Bank.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.