first

... commute on the new wheels. 

Nice weather today (no mudguards yet... they're ordered, honest) so down to the office on the bike; it was lovely being out on the bike apart from the terrible section though Wood Green to Turnpike Lane. I've just about figured out an alternative route; time to give it a go.

I'm very happy with the new bike so far: the disk brakes are nicely modulated and didn't take long to bed in, the hub gears are good and shift well both under load and when stationary. A couple of minor quibbles that can be sorted easily: I only use the top 3 gears so I think a change in chain ring would be smart; the front wheel wasn't properly stress relieved when it was being built (tsk tsk) so it's doing a lot of ting-ting at the moment. Otherwise it's all good.

Having been off a bike for a month or so my butt isn't exactly race ready. Couple that with a new, rather thin saddle and it brings to mind the YP advert. I were right about that saddle though.

Music for today: a top tip from Ian led to Gaz Coomes latest Matador (not bad at all), Cheatahs by Cheatahs (good, very much like early Posies) which led me to The Posies Every Kind Of Light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.