Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Ings

I had a day off so I took the train up Airedale to Cononley and walked over boggy meadows to the flooded pasture of Cononley Ings, a good spot for birds.  

Today they were occupying the spot furthest from any passable right of way, so I peered through my binoculars at the large flock of Lapwings, a small group of Wigeon and sundry gulls.  You may also need to peer through your binoculars to see the Lapwings arrayed in front of the train passing on the embankment of the Airedale line. Sharp Haw and Flasby Fell rise beyond.

I returned along the Aire on the riverside path, meeting a few Goosander along the way. My first Song Thrush, Buzzard and Curlew of the year provided the last highlights before I hopped back on the train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.