RX142

My wife called yesterday and said it was time I "had a word" with our son. Those with children will be able to translate this.

"Having a word" can be done over the phone but far nicer to spend some time together. Thus we headed for the coast and enjoyed a mooch around Hastings before lunching. Fish, chips and mushy peas for me and sausage & chips for him. I know it's Lisa's space but this is where I took the shot - I hope she forgives me.

We had a chat about the world and his part in it as we motored along the coast towards Dungeness and I promised that he could use my two-man tent if his mother threw him out. Of course I didn't offer my spare bedroom, I certainly don't want someone living here who doesn't get out of bed in the morning and needs to be left notes to remind him to carry out his household chores. He is my favourite son but there are limits.

The weatherman is threatening Snowmageddon later in the week (maybe quarter of an inch on Friday) so we grabbed a bit of shopping - bread and milk - and headed back with Cal sharing with me snippets from a book I bought him for Christmas. It's a lovely miscellany and I now know where "The rule of thumb" comes from and that the dot over an i or j is called a tittle. How I've lived this long without such information is beyond me.

All up far from the worst way of spending the time between getting up in the morning and slumping on the sofa with a glass of wine in the evening. Should our diaries permit I think we'll be doing this again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.