Tradition

Here is the traditional, annual snowdrop blip. While thinking about this I started thinking about some other traditions. This week we've had Burns Night which traditionally means that many haggi are hunted in order that they can be soaked in Scotch and listen to the bagpipes. As an aside, someone on Countryfile on Sunday, during their homage to Burns, said that not many people have a day named after them. Well what about Father Christmas? And he even gets a Bank Holiday! I do worry about the way the BBC is dumbing down.

Another tradition is that each week I hastily look at my diary to see if I'm due to be doing a tutorial on Saturday. I rarely manage to internalise the calendar to the point that I can confidently predict when the next one falls. This weekend I am working but online so I'll not be driving to Canterbury.

The Snowmageddon threat is another tradition. If we get snow this week - the risk appears to be receding - the trains will struggle and we'll probably have road closures. Then, tradition demands, we'll have any number of Ersatz Experts will fill the media bemoaning the ability of the UK to cope with "a bit of snow". They will point at Europe and make amazing claims about how poor weather has no impact on commuting. This, of course, ignores the reality that snow frequently causes problems across much of Europe and a couple of years ago closed Frankfurt. Not just the airport and roads but also the rail connections - the city was shut. Earlier this week our local correspondent (George) mentioned travel disruption in the Frankfurt/Duesseldorf area because of snow. But many traditions continue in the face of sense and evidence.

So here's the snowdrop blip. One of the blips that involve physical exertion to get the shot but you know I'll go the extra mile for you dear blippers, because I love you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.