Timing

The secret of good comedy.

I went out to visit the Thames and Medway canal. It ran from Gravesend to Strood to cut the journey time because barges wouldn't have to sail round the Isle of Grain. It was wide enough for sailing barges and ran for just over 6 1/2 miles. But it was inefficient and had a very long tunnel but the biggest problem was timing. Many of the big commercial drivers fell away with the end of the Napoleonic war and shortly the steam engine would revolutionise travel. Now the canal tunnel is used by the rail line. Poor timing. 

I found the canal at Higham and went along Canal Road but it's now an overgrown ditch and not very photogenic so I'll not burden you with that.

Along the river to the country park at Grange. The weather was closing in but I managed to get some shots of these barges in Sharp's Green Bay. This is a tidal salt marsh and the tide was out - good timing because although it was cold I didn't get soaked by the rain and sleet that started as I got home.

And then a friend rang to remind me that I need to complete an application for a piece of work by midnight - timing again :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.