Picture this..

By northernlass261

A Treasure from the Past

Another lovely day, if a little cooler.

After Blipping yesterday about old photos with ValC, it brought to mind the beautiful table cover in my Blip today, although the photo does not do it justice.

It was embroidered by my mum's Aunt, who died in 1960.    It is made out of nine panels, each embroidered and then crocheted together to make the table cover.   The embroidery is exquisite and is almost as good on the back, not a knot or fastening off in sight.

As far as I know, Aunt Martha made it for her bottom drawer.  I don't know how old she was when she died but it will be interesting to find out how old the cover could be. 

My mum gave it to me as I am the only one likely to appreciate it, however, I am loath to use it in case it gets spoiled.   Although it was made to be used, I am sure.

What will become of all the beautiful treasures and memories of our loved ones?   Thankfully, my mum is still living and I hope to find out more information on my visit in early Feb.

I think I should have run the iron over it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.