Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Liberation of Auschwitz : 70 years on.

Holocaust Memorial Day.  Many ceremonies across the world remembering the millions who died in the Holocaust.  70 years today since the liberation of Auschwitz.  Over 1.1 million died there between 1940-1945, 90% of those were Jews.  

Very moving tributes and reporting on the BBC website.  I visited the camp in October 2011, and I will never forget our "personal tour of hell". Seeing the images online today brought it all back.  One of the most harrowing experiences of my life.  I have also visited Yad Vashem in Jerusalem, again very distressing, as you take in the vast loss of life.

I read Fergal Keane's piece this morning, and it has remained with me :  "The human imagination still struggles to comprehend what went on here.

This shot, a selection of library books.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.