maddischeib

By maddischeib

I used to hate wrestling. Then I went to one match and a friend of mine explained the concept of wrestling to me and it started to grow on me. I went to a bunch of wrestling matches and a few tournaments and after watching the guys wrestle so much, I actually like wrestling now. It’s something I actually understand and those types of things don’t come around very often considering how easily confused I get.

The one thing that stood out to me and made me hate wrestling so much was the fact that most wrestlers starve themselves to make weight. I’ve seen the wrestlers from my school look pretty ill around this time of the year. I didn’t know that they looked so sick because they didn’t cut weight efficiently. After being around so much wrestling for so long, I realized that they only look bad when they try to drop 15lbs in a week.

A few of my friends that wrestle told me a lot of stuff about wrestling, like how they have to make a certain weight or they can’t wrestle, (which I already knew, but they explained it a little further). They also talked about a bunch of different techniques they could use without being penalized. I found out that wrestling is a lot more interesting than it seemed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.