On top of the ridge

I go regularly to the top of the Belair National Park - so when I say to the Rower, I'm going up the ridge, he knows exactly where I mean.  There's a place where I can scramble through the fence, and I can always be sure of seeing something up there.

Today wasn't so good actually - it's very windy and still incredibly cool for this time of year, so cool in fact, the Manchurian pear in our garden is starting to change colour.  There are a few butterflies around, but the wind gets up their tails and they don't sit for long.

This plant is very common in the park.  Named for the flowerheads which resemble those of the genus Achillea, this is a common species of many parts of central and southern South Australia.  Ixodia achillaeoides is also found in Victoria, but is less common there.

Being a member of the Compositae, the white 'petals' are actually bracts, with the tiny flowers clustered in the middle of the white 'flowers'.

I was absolutely blown away by the entries in MonoMonday this week.  So many entries and so varied.  it made the task of picking just five very hard indeed.

But here are my favourites, in no particular order.
Skeena
Lynnfot
Weeflecky
Flying
Hilary's View
Allan46

The general standard of MonoMonday just gets better and better, and actually I think everyone deserves a heart!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.