The beach house

Many days my runs yield one photograph which chooses itself as my blip. Today, I took more pictures than usual and would in any other circumstance have been pleased with almost every one, had it been the only photo.

After listening to the advice from both S and daughter J, who liked the ducks and their wake, and really rather liking a framed shot of the sky and water before the sun quite rose, I have chosen this one. This is just a couple of minutes after the sun actually emerged above the horizon. It is far enough above to get a bright band of light across the water.

I have edited the photo a bit. First I straightened the horizon a tiny bit, and then cropped the top to remove some power lines which crossed one corner. Because from where I took this picture (up on the road at the top of the ridge) I was looking over our beach house to see the sunrise, I reduced the shadows so that it can be seen. Then I adjusted the balance to restore the colour of the sky to the original, and with a few tweaks to sharpen the image, I felt satisfied that this is what I saw.

Our house is the dark fronted house with two windows and an unpainted galvanised iron roof, almost in the middle with just two large pohutukawa separating it from the cliff edge.

That is Little Barrier Island in the distance beyond the Tawharenui Peninsula.

EDIT: I have added links to two others from the morning's run which I have added to my blipfolio

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.