Back from an early morning run

I stood on the deck of the beach house and took this photograph of the sky to the north of where the sun was about to rise (totally obscured by cloud). The warning rhyme about sky like this was certainly right as there has been much rain, some thunder, and working inside has had real advantages today.

We stayed north overnight, as the first appointment today was late enough to be able to drive back to the city this morning. To be sure of getting a run, I went early, and the first attempts at a photograph hit the bin quickly as they were very dark, and anything to be seen was very pixillated.

I was attracted to one shot; taken over the pools and channels exposed by the retreating tide with the water coloured by the sky. A long tongue of slightly higher sand extended out into the water, and on that was the morning convocation of gulls. On the edge of the group were a couple of herons and one or two other herons were also visible (in large) with reflections in the water.

My dear adviser, S, said she much prefers this as it is more personal. I said that all my photos are personal; I use the camera. And furthermore, most are taken on my runs (or walks) and that is very personal. Her argument, with which I cannot disagree, is that this what we look at from our place, and that is truly personal.

As she is the one who got the excellent marks in logic, and I didn't even try to do it, I have conceded the argument. Willingly, I might say. This peaceful scene is why I keep returning.

Sadly we will not be back for almost three weeks, as on Saturday we head to Sydney for a conference and a visit with son and family which takes in the following weekend as well. Seeing and staying with the family will more than compensate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.