Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

He won!

There was snow on the ground this morning and Archie LOVES it. He scampers along sweeping his beard in it and chucking it up in the air, yelping in sheer delight. 

Back from our walk in time to settle down with my toast to watch the tennis. What a great way to spend the morning… Well done Andy - though it was touch and go (again). Archie was quite excited slept through most of it. It was over three hours long.

Today has not gone to plan. The dog trainer rang to say he couldn’t get in from the country because of the snow and pile ups on the roads into the city. He’ll come on Monday. Reprieve for Archie today. 

Just as well he has a reprieve … yesterday evening he started his constant nose-in-the-air, mad sniffing behaviour. We get a bit stressed with this, as both times he’s done it, he’s had a sore eye developing. But the eye we’ve been putting drops in seemed fine… Could it mean something else? JR Googled the symptoms and that’s not a good thing to do as there are all sorts of alarming possibilities.

However, this morning I noticed that his other eye is weeping. OMG! What is happening to this wee dog? I suppose if it's conjinctivitis, then it could well easily spread to the other eye... But at least we know what caused the sniffing, it's not some weird paranoid behaviour… I'm also thinking it might have something to do with little hairs getting in his eyes - he'll have to have a haircut round them! Though the eyebrows can stay!

On our second walk this morning I met a chap offering hot chocolate - he was from the new cafe. I mentioned the muzak. He said that when I come in they'd put on something 'better'. I asked what he meant by that. He had no answer. He did say that some people have said they prefer the silence - when it's full it's such a cacophony. Which makes more sense - you can't please everyone with your choice of music. He said he'd mention our conversation to the boss.

And so I postponed the first visit to the new dog sitter tomorrow - can’t have her dealing with eye drops. Vet tomorrow and hopefully we can sort this eye problem out. 

I see my EXIF data is now showing. But why can't I do a thumbnail on my computer? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.