A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Any Fred Will Do ~ Derelict Thursday

Bare with me…

This is one of two rabbits my daughter rescued a couple of years ago. She got them from a local pet store who was asked by a vet to rehouse them after they had been very poorly treated. They were rag and bones, losing fur and near death’s door. A classic case of dereliction of duty by the previous owners.

So my daughter stepped in and once the shop had brought them back to near normal health she brought a large two storey hutch and named them Freddie and Wilfred. This is Wilfred, a Lionhead.

For a few months all went well until just after Christmas 2012. They had started fighting so they were separated by making the hutch an 'upstairs and downstairs'.

Whilst cleaning out Wilfred’s section she first screamed with fear, then with joy. She thought a rat had gotten into the cage and had babies. A second look showed they were 4 baby rabbits about 5 days old. 

She had been assured by the pet shop the rabbits were both boys. In fact Wilfred was a Winifred!

We worked out the fighting must have happened the day the babies were born and we thought ourselves lucky Freddie hadn’t caused more damage. We were wrong. By mid January Winnie had a second batch of five!

Freddie and Winnie live happily together these days as Freddie made a visit to the vets, paid for by the pet shop…


So here is my Derelict bunny or should I say a happy bunny who has had a few bumps along the way.

Footnote:
I see BlipCentral has re-Blipped another of my images. Well when I say re-Blipped I mean their Blip has the thumbnail of my 11 Million Bricks image amongst others being shown on their iPhone app launch... :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.