wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Church Together

Every year there's a big Church Together event, where most of the denominations, from the Salvos to AOG join forces for an evening of worship, with an interesting speaker. This year's speaker was Tim Costello, the CEO of World Vision Australia. I hadn't heard him speak before, and I thought he was very engaging, and not afraid to give his political views to several thousand Tasmanians. Here he is - we were close to the front! I had my big camera in my bag, but it was just too awkward to pull out...

Usually I'm a little ambivalent about Church Together - it's very flash smash bang pop with lights and big drums, and a lot of Hillsong poppy songs, but this year I thought it was much better. There was a mixture of some new songs and some old favourite hymns (jazzed up, but still good), only a few awkward denominational moments (it's always interesting seeing how other churches do various bits and pieces), and it was generally a pretty good time. It's always fantastic to see so many people from so many backgrounds coming together, and that totally overrules any little things that grate with me during the service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.