wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Friday friday...

Yesterday was Thursday, tomorrow is Saturday, and right now this week's looking like it's been a good one. Sure, I've had a massive assignment, but it's the thrill of the chase, the adrenaline of researching and writing. i'm a sucker for punishment, and love a good essay to concentrate on, that takes over my brain and makes me associate every thing I see with that topic - ooooh, ice cubes in my water, melting, now I wonder what effect the melting of the icecaps will have on cruise ships and ooooops I dropped my book, now I've lost my page, hmmm who does all the paperwork? Is it all in big filing cabinets somewhere? Who could do the paperwork best? The UN? IAATO? IMO? Hmmm...... And on it goes.

(I've just decided it's really tricky to recreate streams of consciousness.)

It's been a good week, with little moments of happiness - the car heater kicking in on a cold cold night, slowly defrosting my fingers and toes, buying a shiny new printer (even if it did involve returning a dud first one), eating M&Ms and drinking cups of tea while writing. There's been bigger fun events - a quiz night this evening with questions for a slightly older generation than represented on our team, although we still came in the middle; an excursion to the Antarctic exhibition at the museum for uni with a very knowledgable and interesting tour guide. Then there was a successful Amnesty bbq with free sausages, cupcakes and biscuits, plus a lotalot of signatures against sending sending asylum seekers to Malaysia. All in all, not a bad week 12.

Now all that stands between me and holidays are two slightly terrifying exams. Thanks everyone for your encouragement and smiles this week, I'll try to keep the humour up over the next few weeks. I have an enormous stack of books waiting for me to have time off, and the thought of curling up with them all in a secluded ski hut for a few days is definitely keeping me going at this point.



Edit: I forgot to add that this photo was also a nice moment of my week - just rushing up to meet my friend for the quiz night, crossed a road, whipped out the camera, snapped off a couple on auto sunset, rushed off again and voila I discovered this when I got home. I'm particularly pleased with the accidental syncing of orange traffic lights - makes them look a little see-through...

I also had an unpleasant experience today in my lecture. All I'm going to say is, please make sure your clothing dries before you put it on, don't let it mould on your body. It smells gross for everyone around you. Please also wash your feet. I don't know if it was t-shirt or feet we could all smell, but urgh.

I feel I should end on a happy note again, now that I've accidentally edited out the niceness from before. Ummmm. Now it's time to cosy up with The Elegance of the Hedgehog (undecided on whether i like it or am bored) and forget everything I've learnt this week. That's a nice note to end on. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.