Kunde Vineyards

Between golf and work and Pilates classes, OilMan and I now have only two mornings during the week to do our morning walk together. The addition of a puppy reduced those opportunities to zero. However he's now had all his shots and has been deemed unafraid of streets with traffic, so we decided to take Ozzie and MiniMe to a regional park down the road that has a paved trail down the middle of it and see how far we'd get.

Blake did very well, although he's not supposed to pick up anything off the ground…a tall order for a Labrador and we elected to turn back while he was still enthusiastic, We saw a very large egret walking down the trail leaving footprints that were a good six inches long.  Blake wisely decided that discretion was the better part of valor, and sat quietly beside me while I fruitlessly attempted to focus the camera., but the huge bird made quite an impressive airborne departure when we came too close.

OilMan was feeling expansive enough to stop on the way home so that I could take a picture of the Kunde Vineyards. Kunde advertises "mountaintop tastings", which we agreed we should experience one day soon, since we frequently drive by these beautifully terraced vineyards hugging the hills at the foot of Hood Mountain. In the foreground are some new vines which are due to be pruned any day now. We saw the pruners working just down the road.

I'm amused by the palm trees around here which always look a bit incongruous no matter where they pop up.

Most of the rest of the day was devoted to finishing my closet project. OilMan moved a little rack to a more accessible part of the closet so I could hang my newly abridged collection of scarves. When the spirit moves him, he will alter an extra shelf so that it gives me room for my t-shirts. All in all, a satisfying day….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.