From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

The Watcher in the Field

That tree has always made me feel a little uncomfortable. It's on the other side of the canal at the back of the Dog and Doublet (Bodymoor Heath) where I sometimes go on a Sunday for a pint or three. The trees all around always seem to have leaves on but that one stands there almost bare and quite menacing all year round.

Maybe I imagine that. I always did have an overactive imagination and would often have nightmares about silly things I'd seen in daylight as a child and would wake screaming the house down about moving rocks or trees with flailing arms wanting to hurl me into the water or bury me forever.

Things like that still make the hairs stand out along the back of my neck these days, or maybe that's just the cool breeze? *shudder*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.