cyclops

By cyclops

A90

The A90. The main road out of Edinburgh if you're heading North, across the Forth Road Bridge. When you are diving, you don't notice that you are passing over a series of bridges over the older local roads. The tarmac doesn't give any clue, and as you whizz along past trees and signs, your eyes are probably on the road.

Underneath you lie forgotton roads travelled only by a few locals, severed from the principle routes which now pass over where they once joined. The concrete bridges are utilitarian and neglected, visited only for their annual inspection and by the occasional crazy blipper. Mosses and moulds cling to the concrete, fed by drips of water from above and illuminated through cracked glass bricks.

~~~~~

Following the example set by 77 I have purchased some old Olympus OM lenses to use with my camera, specifically a 55mm f1.8 and a 28mm f2.8. Thanks to eBay, I got both and an adapter for less than £20. OK so the 55mm is a wee bit dirty inside, but for £6 I'm not going to argue. An interesting experiment, and today's blip is from the 55mm.

The good things about these lenses are that they are compact, bright, cheap, simple, and have a lovely manual focus action. The bad things are fixed focal length (depending on the circumstances), manual aperture control and they are not designed to be telecentric so can cause chromatic aberration. Currently they also disable image stabilisation, but I have a solution to that in the pipeline.

Will I use them a lot? I doubt it, the Zuiko Digital lenses I have are much more conventient and much higher quality in most respects. However in low light or when I want to use manual focus I think they will get the odd outing...

P.S. I updated yesterdays blip to reveal it's flaws...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.