Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Flight to Alderney...

When I went up to the airport at 07:00 this morning the wind was so strong I could hardly walk across the road so I'm pleased to say the flight was delayed for over 2 hours during which time the wind speed halved and we actually had a wonderful flight across.

I had a chance to get some lovely photographs of the waves breaking over the breakwater, which I haven't even had time to look at myself. But I thought you'd like to see the view during the 15 minutes flight. This is a Trislander and as you can see I was sitting right behind the pilot. In my misspent youth I spend a lot of time as a passenger in two and four seater Cesnas so this plane, which I think is 18 seater doesn't seem small to me but it is a bit of a shock to some visitors to the island.

Our hosts have had us working ridiculously hard on both tower and hand bells and I am well and truly worn out. In addition to ringing I was up early this morning and went for a two hour walk around and about Alderney with my camera.

Another day of ringing tomorrow and then sadly home. I nearly changed my flight back to stay until Tuesday to extend the trip then realised that I hadn't brought enough Metformin for my diabetes so will have to return home tomorrow. But I'll return again in a few weeks for a second dose...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.