But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Looking Round the Corner.

We went to a fabric based art exhibition this morning in Aberlady and then on to lunch at The Bothy. The next step was to take Merlin for a walk around the estate there. Looking through the slats in the gate to a walled garden we spied a flock of chickens, one of whom was craning her neck to see who it was poking a camera at her. It was an amusing moment.

After that, we visited a friend to pick up some Linus quilts, and to photograph one that is destined for a raffle in aid of Linus funds. A month or two ago I had sent the lady in question a reading aid - but she couldn't see well enough to set it up - I was able to show her how it works, and she is delighted with it. It had belonged to The Old Lady so it's nice that it is having a new and useful lease of life.

This evening, I saw a blip posted by Lady Findhorn about a school reunion and commented how little I remembered about my school friends. I had heard news of one that I did remember nearly two years ago and had tried to contact him, but without success. I now wish I had been a little more persistent; this evening, prompted by the memory, I managed to track him down on facebook only to find he had died last November. I didn't have much access to his page but there was a lovely happy smiling face looking out at me and some very nice messages of condolence. I did send my own message on the off chance that someone sees it and replies, but I doubt if that will happen - particularly as no one who might possibly read it will have heard of me. At least it is nice to know that, despite having suffered from a serious handicap, he was able to lead a happy and fulfilling life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.