South Island Robin

This little fella came to see us today. Scratch the ground and they want to see what insects they might score for a feed.

It's been hot, unusually humid and thankfully the sun never fully broke through for long or we may have melted.

Side streams I'd never seen dry have stopped flowing. The main rivers were low. Those wanting a dip at the end of the day had to lie down flat on the rocks and let the shallow water flow over them.

Having carried a tent for 5 hours, I slept there and not in the hut (along with a zillion sand flies who line up to enter my tent every time I unzip the door).

I could hear gales of laughter from the hut as they watched the tent bounce and jerk as I flailed about killing the little buggers. 

Despite the horrendous sand fly population it's been a splendid day in the hills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.