Heading home

Just to the right of Sue you can see the red roof of the distant Boyle Flats hut. That's where we were last night.

Or in my case  was camped outside in my tent along with a zillion dead sandflies I'd just killed.

My pack should be lighter but there was a shower of rain at dawn so my tend packed wet, plus the 500gm of dead sandflies. (Never one to exaggerate ;-)

And so we progressed out and back to civilisation. It rained briefly, enough to warrant rain coats late morning. But as soon as it eased I shed mine. It was just too hot. Other times I've wandered through snow here. It was hard to imagine that today.

We stopped at the small North Canterbury town of Culverdon for a late lunch. It was 36 degrees.

My gear has either aired or is nearly dry. I'll deal with the mountains of stuff after work tomorrow.

Time to flop gratefully into bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.