Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Pontypool Folly Sunset

I took some photo's for my brother a couple of days ago and got a nice snow blip on the mountain a few miles on the mountain from his house.

I thought I'd return for another snow blip but the sun was out and it'd had cleared a bit: I did get some pics, and afterwards popped in to see him.

By the time I'd left him, and was driving home on the main Abergavenny to Pontypool road, the sun was setting and creating a lovely red in the sky. Seeing my chance, I veered across the road and got the blip photo of the sunset over Pontypool Folly. You can just about make out two people standing alongside it.

The Folly Tower - is located within the grounds of a working farm, close to Pontypool Park. It is a prominent local landmark above the A4042 Pontypool to Abergavenny road and overlooks Pontypool to the west and rural Monmouthshire to the east. The Folly is octagonal in shape and roughly 40 ft high.

The precise date of construction is unknown but it is generally thought that the original tower was built around 1765 to 1770 by John Handbury, a local  who owned Pontypool Park.. The local name of The Folly was in use as far back as 1865.  It is built on the site of a Roman watch tower.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.