Rylstone Cross

It's been another great day. It started by watching the Australian Open Tennis Final between Andy Murray and Novak Djokovic, while doing a bit of scribbling in my notebook during the duller moments - not that there were actually too many of those. The first two sets were as brutal as any I think can remember seeing. The physicality of the modern game, when played at this level, is astonishing. The levels of fitness and skill are extraordinary. As so often happens, it seemed to come down to a matter of mental stamina in the end. Djokovic simply had the greater strength of mind.

By lunchtime the skies had cleared to leave a beautiful, albeit very cold afternoon. I was keen to get out on the bike again but also keen to climb a hill. I took my fell shoes with me so as to have the option to park the bike up somewhere and take a run. When I was at Grassington I had a few choices open to me but in the end I decided to take a run up to Rylstone Cross. I've cycled pass this point on countless occasions since I started blipping but have never during that time given myself an opportunity to climb to the summit. The wind chill factor on the top was pretty extreme. The air temperature today could barely have been above freezing.

When I was a good few miles out into my ride I felt my head getting a bit chilly. I went to check on my ears and realised that I hadn't got my helmet on, just a head scarf. I've not left my helmet behind like that in a long while. Normally I feel a bit vulnerable without one, but even with the ice around I was fine about it. A bit like yesterday, I felt this air of invincibility today! I'd like to think I could carry that into the working week but I have a feeling it's going to evaporate as soon as I sit back in front of the computer.

I've taken quite a few pictures I like so rather than procrastinate, which would be very easy to do, I think I'll just post a shot of the high point and possibly the highlight of the day. Feeling a bit zonked right now. That freezing cold air takes it out of you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.