Let Me Hold You, My Love

"Let me hold you, my love," said the tree to the sun . . .

The storm was just beginning, and we were out for a bit of fresh air before the snow got too heavy. The gamelands trails were already covered in snow and there were lots of tracks, but also plenty of unbroken snow to walk through as well. It takes a lot of energy to break trail. It is easy to forget this, but you'll remember again pretty quickly. Pick 'em up, put 'em down. Do it again, do it again.

As we finished our visit to the gamelands and were walking out, what was this? A little something gold in the sky? A faint light through the trees. And when I lifted my head, I saw them, the lovers: the tree cradled the pretty little sun in its arms, keeping it safe from the snow . . .

The song: Tracy Chapman, Baby Can I Hold You.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.