ARRRRRR! Monday Morning Coffee Face

"I'd rather take coffee than compliments just now." - Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

Ah, is there anything better first thing on a Monday morning than a really, really BIG cup of coffee!??? I think not! And in that spirit, here is a photo of Dexter enjoying a sip, not just from a big cup, but from the whole coffee can itself!

Now, in full disclosure, let me assure you . . . there is no actual coffee in that container. It is water. What - you think we need our Tabbycats all hopped up on caffeine, zipping around the house, causing even MORE trouble than usual? I think not! And . . . well, just . . . Saints preserve us!

The red plastic container is one of the empty coffee cans my husband uses to take fresh water out for the birds and bunnies. My husband fills the cans in the bathroom sink, where the cat loves to hang out, especially in the mornings.

But before the water goes out, Dexter likes to put just a little bit of cat slobber in it. You know, just to keep all of our yard critters guessing: "Hey, the water's good here, but it has a certain little flavor of je ne sais pas . . .  Say, do you think they have a CAT!?"

I chose this photo because I enjoyed the look on Dexter's face. He looked like a pirate making that oh-so-serious ARRRRRR, Mateys face: STAY OUT OF MY WAY; I'M HAVING MY COFFEE!

Dexter really gets into it. He licks the rim of the container; that makes him very happy. He has water droplets falling off of his chin and whiskers. You can bet he's purring; sometimes, so loud that it echoes off the bathroom tiles. (That's what I like: enthusiasm, gusto!)

In a minute, Dexter will give a big shake and I will cover my camera while all those droplets go flying. Then he will start washing one already terribly clean white paw, with all of its vastly pink toepads; then another.

And so our day begins . . . as we pour ourselves a BIG cup of ambition, and yawn and stretch and try to come to life . . .

The soundtrack for this image is Dolly Parton, with the theme song from the movie Nine to Five.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.