Dancersend

By Dancersend

Gathering storm in the New Forest

I'm catching up with a photograph from Sunday. I was travelling down to the south coast to help my daughter and her boyfriend with some house decoration and stopped in the New Forest to stretch my legs and take some photos. There was a very photogenic group of ponies with a rather dramatic sky building up behind them. I got quite a few good shots over a period of a few minutes, before the sky started to look a bit more benign. However, I forgot to take more care around these half wild animals. I was particularly keen to capture the lovely white pony on the left and ended up a bit too close to the dappled grey one on the right. It reacted by suddenly turning its back end towards me and lashing out with both rear legs. I managed to duck, but felt the wind from the hooves close to my head. I felt very stupid, especially as I am still having surgery to sort out my reconstructed face after an accident in South Africa nearly a year ago. It was a lesson seriously learned this time!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.