Surprised....again!

I was just wondering what I could possibly blip today as I had been totally uninspired to get any shots at all, when I read on my Technician's FB page that some of the silkmoth pupae other technicians had been rearing were starting to hatch out. 
Well you would think with my experience of rearing lepidoptera I would have realised this, but apparently not! I rushed over to the box the pupae were in to find two beautiful newly hatched silkmoths.
Phew! that was lucky!
They are now happily all in my mega flight cage, and I am happy :-) 
Sadly I didn't notice this till it was dark, so here is a quick taster of what they are like, I will try to post some better pictures tomorrow. I love their stripy, furry bodies, I am guessing this is a male with his big fluffy antennae can't wait to see the females. 
I blipped the larvae on 19th December 2014

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.