Chance encounter

This is spooky. I am standing on the deck watching the sunset over Cartagena in Colombia when a woman standing few feet from me starts up a conversation.
 
Recognizing the Welsh accent I ask her where she is from.
 
Its ten miles – Llantony- from the farm I was brought up on in Wales.
 
We did the usual Welsh Taffia thing rummaging around to find whom we knew in common.
 
That’s when she dropped her bombshell.
 
“You must know David Rumsey of Ty-Llangeny.”
 
“Yes. He is my brother.”
 
“ I used to go out with him when I was a teenager.”
 
 
Both of us left Wales (“ that’s what you did in those days as soon as you got a bit of an education you fled the country”) and we reminisced what our lives would have been like if we had stayed.
“ We would have been married to farmers,” she said.
 
She became a dental nurse,  married an RAF engineer and travelled the world. I became a journalist, married a research chemist and settled in Scotland.
 
   
I tell her Wales has changed beyond all recognition then remember the conversation I had with another Welsh woman at dinner the other night. She was from Brynmawr. She says the town is known as Bryn-meow because so many people there are addicted to the legal drug Meow. You could have knocked me down with a feather. I didn’t mean that kind of change.

PS Apologies for lack of comments,etc but internet access very expensive and sporadic. Should improve though as we leave the cruise ship tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.